Swedish driver Johan Kristoffersson has won the FIA World Rallycross of France today, dominating the final session from start to finish. The Volkswagen RX Sweden driver also grabbed the Monster Energy Super Charge Award for beating the other contestants to the first corner in the final.

Today’s win places Kristoffersson in third place on the standings with 158 points, Petter Solberg who finished the event fourth still leads the championship with 181 points, just 5 more than second placed Mattias Ekstrom.

Climbing to the podium alongside Kristoffersson today was Norway’s Andreas Bakkerud who claimed second in his Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Focus RS RX Supercar. The team had great success in France with Ken Block also making it to the finals, the American finished the event in sixth overall, having retired after making contact Nitiss and ultimately breaking his suspension. That was the best result for Block so far.

Speaking of best results, another man who scored his best finish today is none other than Sebastian Loeb who finished third in front of his home crowd. Driving for Team Peugeot-Hansen, Loeb is currently fifth in the standings with 141 points. He struggled in the early hours due to the rain but a P3 finish was more than he could ask for.

Ekstrom was leading the event after all four qualifying sessions but a puncture denied him the opportunity to enter the finals. He ended the race in seventh place behind Ken Block. Meanwhile, Reinis Nitiss clinched fifth place in his Seat Ibiza RX Supercar.

Timmy Hansen also suffered a puncture and finished the event in 8th place overall, leading Davy Jeanney and Robin Larsson. Krisztian Szabo from Hungary won the Super1600 class in a Skoda Fabia leading Ulrik Linnemann in a Peugeot 208 and Josef Susta in another Skoda Fabia.

Round 9 of the World RX 2016 season heads to Barcelona on September 16.

Previous articleSpecial Report: Salon Prive 2016
Next articleKoenigsegg Agera RSR Debuts in Japan, Limited to 3 Units Only


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here