Team Peugeot Hansen

Davy Jeanney became the first Frenchman to win a FIA World Rallycross round after clinching victory at Estering this weekend where the fifth round took place. The Team Peugeot-Hansen driver beat the odds in his Peugeot 208 RX Supercar to claim victory and move up the standings to 6th. Jeanney ties at 77 points with Ford Olsbergs MSE Reinis Nitiss. In addition to his main victory, Jeanney also won the Monster Energy Super Charge Award and a limited edition Rebellion Timepieces Wraith Drive rallycross watch.

Citroen driver Petter Solberg finished in second place to extend his championship lead to 138 points – 35 points more than second ranked Johan Kristoffersson. Timmy Hansen made it a double podium for Peugeot by finishing third in the other Team Peugeot-Hansen car. Hansen is now 4th in the standings with 79 points.

Speaking about his win, Jeanney said: “To win today feels incredible, it’s been the perfect weekend for me and it’s really fantastic for the team to have Timmy on the podium too. Both myself and the car have stepped up a level since the start of the year, I made just one small mistake over the weekend and the rest was perfect. I really enjoy the Estering, it’s a track that suits my driving style well and I have good memories after finishing second in Germany two years ago. I’ve not won a rallycross event in five years [France, 2010] and to leave here with maximum points is a fantastic feeling.”

The Estering round also marked round 2 of the FIA European Rallycross Championship (Euro RX) which was won by Tommy Rustad from Marklund Motorsport. Jerome Grosset-Janin of Albatec Racing crossed the finish line in second place leading Fabien Pailler. Kristoffersson who ranks second in the championship finished fourth overall while Tord Linnerud from Marklund Motorsport rounded off the top five.

FIA World Rallycross

In the Touring Car class it was Fredrik Salsten who took the win home after fending off 16-year old Magda Andersson who finished second. Andersson is the youngest female to win a podium in Touring Car. Kjetil Larsen completed the podium in this class. Elsewhere, Ulrik Linnemann from Denmark won first place in S1600 category while Timur Shigabutidnov from Russia and Hungary’s Krisztian Szabo took second and third respectively.

World RX of Sweden is the next round in the calendar scheduled to take place from July 3.

[Additional Photos by U. Cordes, Tristan Müller]

Previous articleVideo: Hear the New McLaren 570S
Next articleLamborghini Veneno Roadster and Coupe at Paul Ricard


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here