Hoonigan’s Andreas Bakkerud won the FIA World Rallycross season finale in Argentina today, driving a Ford Focus RS RX to mark his third victory of the 2016 season. EKS team went ahead to win the Teams’ championship title ending a close battle with Team peugeot Hansen.

Johan Kristoffersson from VW RX Sweden was the main rival to Bakkerud today, running second throughout the final to claim second in the drivers’ standings. Bakkerud missed the same spot by a single point and had to settle for third in the overall championship standings. Mattias Ekstrom already won the 2016 championship title and was only cruising for the fun of it in Argentina, he did however manage to get through all rounds into the final where he finished fifth.

EKS driver Toomas Heikkinen beat Ekstrom to the first corner and thus claimed third, leaving Timo Scheider and Ekstrom to fight for fourth – both are DTM drivers. Eventually, Heikkinen would finish third leading Scheider. Earlier on, Ekstrom suffered a loss of time after taking two joker laps, the Swedish driver had jumped the start. Robin Larsson finished sixth in the final.

Former World RX champions Petter Solberg had an unlucky weekend after his campaign came to a premature end in the semi-finals, he finished fifth after getting caught behind a shunt between Janis Baumanis and his teammate Timur Timerzyanov. Prior to that, Solberg had been leading all weekend up until the semi-finals. Sebastien Loeb suffered a similar fate, only making it as far as the semi-finals. The Frenchman finished fourth but dropped to fifth after receiving a five-seconds penalty.

Previous articleAbu Dhabi GP: Rosberg is the 2016 Formula 1 World Champion
Next articleThe Arrinera Hussarya GT Is Poland’s Supercar!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here