Alexey Lukyanuk triumphed at the FIA ERC season finale by winning Cyprus Rally, his second win of the season. The Ford driver finished second on the standings, behind 2016 title winner Kajetanowicz who claimed his second ERC title in a row during the previous round in Latvia. Kajetanowicz did not take part in the season finale in Cyprus.

Sharing the podium with Lukyanuk was Marijan Griebel who made his R5 debut this weekend, graduating from Junior Championship. The youngster drove flawless throughout the event, before claiming his first R5 podium in a Skoda Fabia R5. Third place went to the talented Ralfs Sirmacis who also graduated to an R5 car this season from the Junior championship. The Skoda Fabia driver has already pocketed three wins in only five starts, that is more than any other driver in the 2016 season.

Lukyanuk also won the coveted Love Cyprus Golden Stage, that saw him receive an award of 25,000 euros from the Cyprus Tourism Organisation as well as 7,000 euros from Eurosport Events. Sirmacis claimed second place on this stage and was thus awarded a sum of 15,000 euros while Griebel came in third to claim an award of 10,000 euros.

Local hero Christos Demosthenous won the ERC2 category in a Mitsubishi Evo IX while Murat Bostanci dominated the ERC3 class in a Ford Fiesta R2T.

Previous articleMaserati MC-63 Concept Based on Ferrari LaFerrari
Next articleFormula E: Buemi Takes Victory at Hong Kong e-Prix Season Opener


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here