Lewis Hamilton has won pole for the Italian GP 2016 after dominating all three qualifying sessions. Teammate Rosberg will start from the first row in P2 locking the front row for Mercedes. Vettel and Raikkonen locked the second row for Ferrari with a P3 and P4 finish respectively.

Italian GP 2016 Qualifying Results

P1: Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes
P2: Nico Rosberg – Mercedes
P3: Sebastian Vettel – Ferrari
P4: Kimi Raikkonen – Ferrari
P5: Valtteri Bottas – Williams
P6: Daniel Ricciardo – Red Bull
P7: Max Verstappen – Red Bull
P8: Sergio Perez – Force India
P9: Nico Hulkenberg – Force India
P10: Esteban Gutierrez – Haas

As one of the oldest Grands Prix in history, the Italian GP has been held for a record number 85 times since 1921. It became part of the Formula 1 calendar in 1950 and has been held every year since then. All the Formula 1 Italian GPs have taken place at the Temple of Speed, Monza circuit except the 1980 edition which was moved to Imola. The Italian GP has also served as the European Grand Prix seven times between 1923 and 1967. Michael Schumacher has the most wins here at five while Ferrari leads the manufacturer category with 19 wins!

Renaults led the action in Q1 followed by Pascal’s Manor, Magnussen set the first time on 1m25.074s but Palmer beat that with a 1m24.821s that was later trimmed by Kvyat and Esteban Gutierrez. Ocon later brought out the yellow flags after his Manor stopped at the first chicane, in the meantime, the Mercedes made the passes and scored a provisional P1 and P2 with Hamilton and Rosberg respectively.

The chequered flags flew just about the same time several drivers were making the final runs. When the times came in, Kvyat, Nasr, Ericsson, Palmer, Magnussen and Ocon were all eliminated. Proceeding to Q2 were Hamilton, Rosberg, Vettel, Ricciardo, Raikkonen, Verstappen, Hulkenberg, Bottas, Gutierrez, Grosjean, Perez, Massa, Sainz, Button, Wehrlein and Alonso.

The Mercedes cars headed out first in Q2, both shod on soft tires, most of the field utilized this set too. Both drivers set the first times on the leaderboard with Hamilton on top thanks to a 1m21.498s. The order after the first proper times was Hamilton, Rosberg, Vettel, Bottas and Raikkonen in the top five. Everyone went out for a second run besides Vettel and Bottas.

Making it into Q2 were Hamilton, Rosberg, Vettel, Bottas, Raikkonen, Ricciardo, Gutierrez, Verstappen, Perez and Hulkenberg in that order. Massa was among those eliminated, on the same weekend he announced his F1 retirement. He was joined by Grosjean, Alonso, Wehrlein, Button and Sainz.

Q3 kicked off with Mercedes heading the times courtesy of Rosberg’s first run which was soon beaten by Hamilton. Raikkonen went third followed by Vettel, Bottas and Ricciardo. Gutierrez missed his first lap after sliding into the gravel at Lesmo 2.

A 1m21.135s second run by Hamilton assured him of pole, it was half a second faster than Rosberg’s time. “Well done Lewis, that’s pole position mate, great work there.” his team said.

Previous articleVideo: Royal Rally – Badlands 2016
Next articleFIA WEC 6 Hours of Mexico 2016 Starting Grid


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here