The official starting grid for the FIA WEC 6 Hours of Mexico which kicks off in 2 hours time. Audi set the fastest time overall during qualifying, with Loic Duval and Lucas di Grassi claiming pole in the #8 Audi R18 e-tron quattro. Behind them was the #2 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Neel Jani and Marc Lieb who crossed the finish line second ahead of the #7 Audi R18 of Andre Lotterer and Marcel Fassler.

6 Hours of Mexico 2016 Starting Grid

P1: #8 Audi R18 – Loic Duval and Lucas di Grassi
P2: #2 Porsche 919 – Neel Jani and Marc Lieb
P3: #7 Audi R18 – Andre Lotterer and Marcel Fassler
P1: #13 Rebellion Racing R-One (LMP1 Privateer)
P1: #43 LIGIER JS P2 – Nissan
P2: #36 Alpine A460 – Nissan
P3: #42 Gibson 015S – Nissan
P1: #95 Aston Martin Vantage – Marco Sorensen and Nicki Thiim
P2: #97 Aston Martin Vantage – Richie Stanaway and Darren Turner
P3: #51 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE – Gianmaria Bruni and James Calado
P1: #88 Abu Dhabi Porsche 911 RSR
P2: #86 Gulf Racing Porsche 911 RSR
P3: #78 KCMG Porsche 911 RSR

Benoit Treluyer from the #7 Audi was exempted from the event after he felt uncomfortable while at the wheel during free practice. Treluyer suffered a biking accident back in July and has not been fully fit since then. That leaves Lotterer and Fassler to pilot the #7 car as a two man team for the 6 Hours of Mexico.

Meanwhile, the #13 Rebellion Racing R-One of Dominik Kraihamer and Alex Imperatori won pole in the LMP1 privateer category. Mexican team RGR Sport by Morand won pole in the LMP2 class, denying the #26 G-Drive Racing Oreca its fifth consecutive pole of the season. The RGR Sport car was driven by Bruno Senna and Ricardo Gonzalez.

Aston Martin has dominated the LMGTE class in Mexico so far by winning pole in both Pro and AM classes. The #95 Aston Martin Vantage of Marco Sorensen and Nicki Thiim won pole in the Pro class, leading the #97 sister car of Richie Stanaway and Darren Turner to complete a 1-2 for Aston Martin Racing. The #51 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE of Gianmaria Bruni and James Calado scored P3 in this class.

6 Hours of Mexico (18)

Soon after winning the AM class pole with the #98 Aston Martin Vantage of Pedro Lamy and Paul Dalla Lana, the team was disqualified for having an improper ride height. The win was thus inherited by the #88 Abu Dhabi-Proton Racing Porsche 911 RSR of Pat Long and Khaled Al Qubaisi. Second and third in this class also went to Porsche, with #86 Gulf Racing Porsche taking P2 ahead of the #78 KCMG Porsche.

The race starts at 1:30 PM local time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here