TCR Benelux at Curbstone Track Events in Francorchamps

TCR Benelux, in full the 2016 Touring Car Championship Benelux, is one of the newest racing series in Europe and so knows it’s the first season this year. The 2016 championship consists of six races in the Benelux area on the tracks of Spa Francorchamps (BE), Zolder (BE), Mettet (BE), Assen (NL), Zandvoort (NL) and Colmar-Berg (LUX).


Every event includes five races. A 60 minute long endurance race and four 20 minute long sprint series. The pack is divided over 9 teams and 31 drivers. The first race was held last weekend in Spa Francorchamps and won by a well-known name in racing, Tiago Monteiro, who was multiple winner in the World Touring Car Championship and even had a F1 career back in 2005-2006. This year he’s racing a Honda Civic TCR from the Belgian team Boutsen Ginion Racing.

GTspirit friend and Curbstone coach, Sam Dejonghe, is maybe one of the biggest competitors for Tiago Monteiro this season. After starting the race at place 7, he managed to race his Seat Leon Cup from the RACB team to a second place right behind Monteiro. If he keeps getting results like these this year, we believe he might end close to winning the first season to the TCR Benelux.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here