Von Ryan Racing triumphed in the Blancpain Endurance Series season finale at the Nurburgring after claiming victory in the #58 McLaren 650S GT3 that was piloted by Shane van Gisbergen, Rob Bell and Kevin Estre. Bentley Boys Andy Meyrick, Guy Smith and Steven Kane in the #7 M-Sport Bentley Continental GT3 claimed P2 after maintaining a constant pace throughout the weekend.

The biggest joy however went to the #23 Nissan GT Academy Team RJN GT-R of Katsumasa Chiyo, Wolfgang Reip and Alex Buncombe who won the 2015 Blancpain Endurance Series drivers’ title after finishing third. The trio was leading the standings prior to the season finale, their third place finish today meant a 3-point overall lead that automatically crowned them champions.

Nissan GT-R GT3 Nismo Blancpain Endurance Series

Meanwhile, Blancpain GT and Sprint Series leaders Robin Frijns and Laurens Vanthoor together with Jean-Karl Vernay finished fourth today in the #1 Audi R8 LMS fielded by Belgian Audi Club Team WRT. The team also won the 2015 Blancpain Endurance Series Teams’ title with 79 points, just 3 over second placed M-Sport Bentley.

The #7 M-Sport Bentley team was also second in the drivers’ standings missing the title win by only 3 points.

Swiss Team Emil Frey Racing won the Pro-Am class with the #14 G3 Jaguar piloted by Gabriele Gardel, Lorenz Frey and Fredy Barth. They shared the podium with the #52 AF Corse Ferrari 458 of Adrien De Leener and Cedric Sbirrazzuoli who finished second and the #11 Kessel Racing Ferrari 458 of Michael Broniszewski, Alessandro Bonacini and Michael Lyons in P3.

Winning the Pro-Am drivers’ title was the team of Duncan Cameron and Matt Griffin in the #52 AF Corse Ferrari 458. They finished 15th in class and 34th overall. AF Corse clinched the Teams’ title easily with a total of 116 points ahead of Kessel Racing who had 63 points, 1 point away from third placed GT Russian Team.

Meanwhile, the #16 Akka ASP Ferrari 458 of Anthony Pons and Fabien Barthez won in the AM class leading the #15 BMW Z4 GT3 of Boutsen Ginion and the #56 Porsche 997 GT3 R of Attempto Racing.

Ian Loggie and Julian Westwood from Team Parker Racing won the drivers’ title in the AM class with their #24 Audi R8 LMS. The teams’ title in this class went to Akka ASP.

There are two more rounds left in the Blancpain GT calendar both hosting Sprint Series. Misano will host the penultimate Blancpain Sprint Series round on October 4 while the season finale will take place in Zandvoort a week later.

Previous articleVideo: Facelifted Porsche 911 Carrera S Hits the ‘Ring
Next articleSleek Silver 2016 Porsche 911 GT3 RS For Sale


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here