FIA WEC: Toyota Wins at 6 Hours of Bahrain and Claims Drivers' Title

Toyota has once again impressed in the World Endurance Championship after finishing first at the 6 Hours of Bahrain. The team did not only take home the penultimate round win but also the drivers’ championship title which went to the #8 Toyota TS040 Hybrid of Anthony Davidson and Sebastien Buemi.

Davidson and Buemi had a tough race after spending 16 laps in the garage fixing a broken alternator and they ultimately finished the race in 11th place. Nevertheless, that was enough to award them the required points to claim the 2014 WEC drivers’ championship title. The manufacturers’ title will be decided in the final round in Sao Paulo two weeks from now.

First place in the LMP1 class went to the #7 Toyota of Alex Wurz, Stephane Sarrazin and Mike Conway. Porsche then put down their best show during this round and scooped two podium finishes in the LMP1 class. The #14 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Marc Lieb, Neel Jani and Romain Dumas finished in second place ahead of the #20 entry of Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard. Again this race did not favor Audi as the #2 Audi R18 e-tron quattro finished in fourth followed by the sister #1 car.

Audi may have missed a chance to win the drivers’ championship but there is an open opportunity to grab the manufacturer’s title. Currently, Toyota leads Audi with 40 points, but the final round in Sao Paulo has a total of 44 points on offer. Therefore if Audi finishes first they could secure that victory. The #47 Oreca-Nissan of Matt Howson, Richard Bradley and Alexander Imperatori took the win in the LMP2 class.

6 Hours of Bahrain

The battle in the GTE-Pro class was won by AF Corse Ferrari who took home both the drivers’ and manufacturers’ titles. The team of Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander in the #51 Ferrari 458 Italia finished first followed by the #97 Aston Martin Vantage of Darren Turner in second. Third place went to the #71 Ferrari 458 Italia. Aston Martin did the same in the GTE-Am class, finishing in first and third positions while the second place went to a Ferrari.

The final round of the season will take place on November 30 in Sao Paulo.

Top 15 Results
6 Hours of Bahrain

Previous articleWRC: Sebastien Ogier Ends Season with Flawless Win at Rally GB
Next articleVideo: Ken Block Takes Chris Harris for a Spin!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here