When we report about BMW coming up with a new M-series or Audi adding an RS to it’s collection, we always talk about competition with Mercedes-Benz’ AMG devision. But when we take a closer look we can’t really find any competition. After the jump we listed all 2008 and 2009 models AMG is putting in the showroom. However I should make it clear that half the reason for such a large number of cars is that the AMG division uses, for the most part, about five separate power plants that are shared between all these cars. A 5.5 liter V8 (SLK), 5.5 liter supercharged V8 (G55), 6.2 liter V8 (CLS), 6.3 liter V8 (C, CL, CLK, SL, S), and a 6.0 liter V12 bi-turbo (SL, S, CL).

2008 Models:
451hp Mercedes C63 AMG
507hp Mercedes E63 AMG
507hp Mercedes E63 AMG Wagon
518hp Mercedes S63 AMG
604hp Mercedes S65 AMG
503hp Mercedes ML63 AMG
493hp Mercedes G55 AMG
475hp Mercedes CLK63 AMG
475hp Mercedes CLK63 AMG Black Series
518hp Mercedes CL63 AMG
604hp Mercedes CL65 AMG
617hp Mercedes SLR McLaren (uses an AMG engine)

2009 Models:
507hp Mercedes CLS63 AMG
355hp Mercedes SLK55 AMG
518hp Mercedes SL63 AMG
604hp Mercedes SL65 AMG
670hp Mercedes SL65 AMG Black Series
550hp Mercedes Gullwing (2010?)

There are reports that the C63 AMG will also be offered as a Black Series model… So go ahead and add another one to the list.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here