The 2016 Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo kicked off to a record start with 47 cars on the grid at Monza. This was the first round of the European series in the one-make series which is currently spread across three continents, including Asia and North America.

Race 1 went down on Saturday where newcomer Dane Dennis claimed victory in his first ever race in Lamborghini Super Trofeo. The Raton Racing driver qualified fourth but managed to steadily climb up positions in the 50-minute race. Pole starter Vito Postiglione from Imperiale Racing maintained his lead up until his car began to slow down, resulting to a P6 finish.

Second place went to Nicola De Marco and Fabrizio Del Monte from thew newly created Orange 1 Team Lazarus. The duo was leading at some point before pitting to change driver roles. Harald Schlegelmilch from Artline Team Georgia claimed the final spot on the podium.

The PRO-Am class win went to Bonaldi Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo driven by veteran Patrick Kujala and Adrian Amstutz. The two drivers also scored an impressive fifth finish overall.

17-year old Rik Breukers is the youngest Super Trofeo driver in Europe and made his debut in Monza. He did this in style by winning the AM Cup in the Dutch of GDL Racing Lamborghini Huracan LP610-2. Songyang Fu from FFF Racing Team by ACM won the Lamborghini Cup.

Race 2 of the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo at Monza unleashed more surprises adding to what was experienced in the first race. There were two safety car periods one of which formed the basis for the final grid setup that would eventually determine the winner. Konrad Motorsport drivers Nicolas Armindo and Henry Hassid had started from P22 but the duo benefited from the first safety car period which allowed them to shuffle their way up to the top of the field.

The Pro-Am Cup drivers thus surprised everyone by winning the 50-minute race. Second place was a repeat of Race 1, as the win went to Nicola De Marco and Fabrizio Del Monte from Orange1 Team Lazarus. Third place was another Pro-Am Cup car, the Antonelli Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo of Andrea Fontana and Lorenzo Veglia. Their third overall finish aided them to claim P2 in the Pro-Am class.

8Lamborghini Super Trofeo

Raffaele Giannoni from Automobile Tricolore won the Am Cup by scoring a P12 overall while Tim Richards won the Lamborghini Cup.

The next round of the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo Europe will head over to Silverstone on May 14.

Previous articleOfficial: 2017 Smart Brabus
Next articleOfficial: 2017 Audi TT RS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here