The second round of the 2014 FIA WRC season went down this weekend, it was the thrilling Rally Sweden which saw Volkswagen Motorsports dominate in the three rallying days. Reigning World Champion Sebastien Ogier dominated in day one in his VW Polo WRC, extending his leading streak which picked up from the season debut in Monte Carlo. After the first day, Ogier finished on top followed closely by his team-mates Andreas Mikkelsen and Jari-Matti Latvala in second and third.

Day one had 6 stages in total, with Ogier winning three of them while Mikkelsen won two. The remaining one was won by Latvala despite having struggled in the slower stages. Ott Tanak who made his return to WRC impressed in day one by finishing fourth in his Ford Fiesta RS WRC. Day two saw a turn of events as Ogier lost the lead, he had started first but got stuck in one of the corners which cost him four and a half minutes and 20 positions.

With Ogier far behind in Day 2, his teammate Jari-Matti Latvala took the lead and following him tightly was teammate Andreas Mikkelsen. During this day, Citroen Racing was able to get into the top three finishes with Mads Østberg driving a Citroën DS3 WRC. Day three saw a repeat of day two as the finishes were identical with Latvala, Mikkelsen and Ostberg finishing in first, second and third respectively.

Sebastien Ogier was able to improve his position by finishing 6th in the final day, in the leadership board, Latvala is now in the lead after the Swedish round. He has a total of 40 points, with Ogier coming in second with 35 points. Ostberg locks the top three with 30 points. In the manufacturer’s board, Volkswagen Motorsports is leading with 72 points with Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team coming in second with 56 points.

Rally Sweden Results
1. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
2. Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula
3. Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
4. Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
5. Ott Tanak/Raigo Molder
6. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
7. Henning Solberg/Ilka Minor
8. Pontus Tidemand/Ola Fløene
9. Craig Breen/Scott Martin
10. Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle

Previous articleBathurst 12 Hour 2014: Ferrari Scoops Overall Win in Thriller Finish
Next articleGallery: 2014 9th Annual Key Largo Rally


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here