BTCC 2013 Media Day 2013

The 2013 BTCC Media Day 2013 was held at Donington Park on Thursday 21st March 2013. The media day is an opportunity for all drivers and their vehicles to be showcased. There was an hour window where interviews were held for all Media to attend. This included Jack Sears, BTCC Series Director Alan Gow and Dunlop Tyres. The stage was the perfect place to announce that BTCC had secured a deal with ITV for another 3 years. This would take the airplay of the series until 2017. The new commentators of the ITV coverage will be Tim Harvey and David Addison.

Also speaking on the stage, were the BTCC drivers which had a brief talk about the car and teams that they are racing with. There will be four previous champions taking to the grid this season. The current reigning champion Gordon Shedden, Jason Plato Matt Neal and returning 2009 champion Colin Turkington. There has been much anticipation regarding Turkington making a return for the last few years and this year he has decided its the best move to make.

Soon after the interviews the class of 2013 photo opportunity was given. Followed by the unveiling of the cars. The series is hosting the biggest grid to date with 32 cars signed up. Some of the cars were not ready for the media day unveiling and some may miss the first round at Brands Hatch over the Easter weekend. The BTCC limits the maximum number of cars entries to thirty-two to comply with MSA Track license for Brands Hatch (Indy), Oulton Park and Knockhill circuits.

The championship has introduced a new softer compound tyre option which each team must use. They must nominate which of the three races in that round they will use the tyre in. This decision will need to be made before qualifying rather than waiting to see which race he softer compound will be best used .Alan Gow has said it will add a twist to the races,

This week has seen a couple of last minute announcements. Micheal Caine, Lea Wood and Ollie Jackson.

There are thirteen different models across eleven car manufacturers. there are twenty-six cars competing with BTCC’s NGTC spec and six cars competing S2000 cars which will fight for the Jack Sears Trophy.

We have included a selection of Steven Roe’s shots from the day. Including the new cars unveiled, class of 2013, interviews on stage and on track.

The full driver/car line up announced today is below:

1 Gordon Shedden Honda Yuasa Racing (C) Honda Civic (C)
2 Matt Neal Honda Yuasa Racing (C) Honda Civic (C)
4 Michael Caine Addison Lee Motorbase Ford Focus **
5 Rob Collard eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
6 Tom Onslow-Cole PPCCB.Com/ Kraftwerk Racing Volkswagen Passat CC
7 Matt Jackson Airwaves Racing Ford Focus
8 Aron Smith Airwaves Racing Ford Focus
10 Daniel Welch Welch Motorsport with Sopp+ Sopp Proton Gen -2
11 Frank Wrathall Dynojet Toyota Avensis
12 David Nye Welch Motorsport with Sopp+ Sopp Ford Focus
13 Rob Austin WIX Racing Audi A4
14 Will Bratt WIX Racing Audi A4
15 James Kaye AmD Volkswagen Golf
17 Dave Newsham Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis
18 Nick Foster eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
20 James Cole RCIB Insurance Racing Vauxhall Insignia
22 Howard Fuller PPCCB.Com/ Kraftwerk Racing Volswagen Passat CC
28 Chris Stockton BTC Racing Chevrolet Cruze ***
29 Colin Turkington eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
31 Jack Goff RCIB Insurance Racing Vauxhall Insignia
33 Adam Morgan Ciceley Racing Toyota Avensis
39 Warren Scott Team BMR Restart SEAT Leon
43 Lea Wood Wheel Heaven/ Houseman Racing Vauxhall Vectra
44 Andy Neate Team Club 44 Chevrolet Cruze **
48 Oliver Jackson Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis
55 Jeff Smith Pirtek Racing Honda Civic
66 Liam Griffin Addison Lee Motorbase Ford Focus
77 Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing Honda Civic
88 Sam Tordoff MG KX Momentum Racing (C) MG6(C)
90 Joe Girling M2 47 Racing Chevrolet Cruze
99 Jason Plato MG KX Momentum Racing (C) MG6 (C)
TBA TBA Team Club 44 Chevrolet Cruze ***

BTCC 2013 Media Day 2013

The cars marked ** will start their racing season from Donington Park (Round 2)
The cars marked *** will start their racing season from Snetterton (Round 6)

The season kicks off next weekend where all the fun begins. We will be keeping you up-to-date with the races throughout the season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here