ABT Audi driver Lucas di Grassi won round four of the current Formula E season at Mexico ePrix yesterday, breaking Renault’s streak of six consecutive wins. For Di Grassi, this was more than just a win as he had started from third last, a good strategy by the team ensured that the Brazilian driver crossed the finish line first.

Di Grassi’s win brings him closer to the championship lead, five points behind Sebastian Buemi’s 76 point lead in the Drivers’ standings. The Renault driver had an unfortunate Mexico ePrix after spinning out of contention for a podium finish. He started from sixth, and had only arrived in Mexico late Friday night after spending the day at the FIA WEC Prologue in Monza, Buemi is part of the Toyota LMP1 driver team.

ABT team had a rough race weekend after pole sitter Daniel Abt was disqualified for using wrong tire pressure, he started from last. Their hopes were relinquished through Di Grassi who was called to the pits after only 18 laps to change cars. Alongside Farady Future driver Jerome d’Ambrosio, they were the only two drivers to change cars that early, finishing the race with almost zero energy left in their cars. d’Ambrosio finished outside the points in 14th place.

French driver Vergne from TeCheetah finished in second place leading British driver Sam Bird. The DS Virgin Racing driver was handed a two points penalty for unsafe release but that did not affect his third place on the podium. His teammate Lopez finished in sixth, he was leading for most of the race but a spin on lap 35 cost him the lead.

Mitch Evans gave Jaguar a fourth place finish while Nico Prost put Renault in fifth, Daniel Abt finished behind Lopez in seventh. Adam Carroll placed the other Jaguar car in eighth place ahead of the NextEV Nio of Nelson Piquet Jr. Tenth place went to Mexican and ex-F1 driver Esteban Gutierrez.

Renault continues to lead the manufacturer’s standings with 122 points, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport is second with 91 points.

The fifth round of the Formula E season 3 will head over to Europe for the Monaco ePrix on 13th May.

Photos by Alexandre Guillaumot, Sam Bloxham, Alastair Staley, Zak Mauger,

Previous articleVolkswagen Acquires Ferrari for $13 Billion, Sergio Marchionne Resigns
Next articleBlancpain GT: Mercedes-AMG Dominates Season Opener at Misano


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here