WRC: Sebastien Ogier Crowned 2014 Champion at Rally Espana

Sebastien Ogier has claimed the 2014 WRC drivers’ championship title by winning the penultimate round at Rally of Spain. This is his second title win and his 23rd WRC win. He claimed the win ahead of his teammate Jari-Matti Latvala who was the only man capable of denying him the championship.

Ogier launched a strong run during the first day thereby building a huge lead ahead of his rivals. He suffered a puncture on Saturday and had to drive 20km in that condition. Latvala on the other hand made his move in the final two days. Ogier was keen enough to notice his teammate’s effort and monitored him closely by keeping up with him.

Ogier said: “It’s a great achievement to win one title but even better to take a second, it’s a confirmation and proves the first title was not a one-off. It’s been a fantastic weekend, but it was tough. I pushed so hard on leg one and it was a long two days on Tarmac where I had to watch Jari-Matti flying. I had to be clever and keep watching him all the time.”

Finishing in third place was Mikko Hirvonen in a Ford Fiesta RS ahead of Mads Østberg in a Citroen DS3 WRC. Dani Sordo completed the top five after he lost precious time due to an error caused by his co-driver. US driver Ken Block who was also taking part in the rally finished in 12th place. The next round is the Wales Rally GB which takes place on November 13.

Video Highlight:

Previous articleNext-Generation Audi A4 Spied
Next articleCalista Luxury Resort in Turkey


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here