Audi finished first and second at the DTM Moscow race event which took part this weekend at the Moscow Raceway. This was the first ever DTM race in Russia and it was the Phoenix Audi team who took the win thanks to their driver Mike Rockenfeller who went ahead to scoop his third career win.

The Phoenix Audi team has barely rested from the 24 Hours of Spa race and although they did not get the big win at Spa, they did run away with the victory this weekend! The win looked imminent after qualifying, when Rockenfeller scored the crucial pole position.

BMW veteran driver Bruno Spengler of the Schnitzer BMW team spun out at turn one in the fourth lap after colliding with Rockenfeller’s Phoenix Audi team-mate Miguel Molina, killing his hopes of winning the race. Molina retired but Spengler kept on fighting and ended up finishing nineteenth. Meanwhile, Mattias Ekstrom of the ABT Audi team finished a minute after Mike, giving him second place on the podium.

The best BMW was that of Augusto Farfus of the RBM team, who finished third. The best placed Mercedes car was that of HWA Mercedes driven by Gary Paffett who finished 5th, just behind another ABT Audi. Apart from the Phoenix Audi of Molina that retired after 5 laps, there was another Audi that retired after 31 laps, being the Rosberg Audi driven by Edoardo Mortara.

As for Rockenfeller, he led all way through the race until his first pit-stop which came after 44 laps. This consequently gave an opening to ABT’s Ekstrom in the Audi RS5 who took the lead. However, Ekstrom lost the lead after several laps, therefore putting Rockenfeller at the front of the pack yet again. Mike Rockenfeller now has a 27-point series lead over Bruno Spengler

Results: 74 Laps

Pos Driver Team/Car Time/Gap
1. Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 1h14m38.512s
2. Mattias Ekstrom Abt Audi +1.303s
3. Augusto Farfus RBM BMW +11.393s
4. Adrien Tambay Abt Audi +12.275s
5. Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes +17.495s
6. Jamie Green Abt Audi +18.704s
7. Joey Hand RBM BMW +19.363s
8. Dirk Werner Schnitzer BMW +26.117s
9. Timo Scheider Abt Audi +34.184s
10. Christian Vietoris HWA Mercedes +41.331s
11. Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Mercedes +42.029s
12. Robert Wickens HWA Mercedes +43.782s
13. Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi +44.443s
14. Roberto Merhi HWA Mercedes +51.576s
15. Marco Wittmann MTEK BMW +52.941s
16. Timo Glock MTEK BMW +54.421s
17. Martin Tomczyk RMG BMW +58.460s
18. Daniel Juncadella Mucke Mercedes +1 lap
19. Bruno Spengler Schnitzer BMW +1 lap
20. Andy Priaulx RMG BMW +1 lap


Edoardo Mortara Rosberg Audi 31 laps
Miguel Molina Phoenix Audi 5 laps

Previous articleThe Worlds Most Expensive Traffic Jam
Next articleCar Crash: Porsche 996 GT3 Kills Toyota Yaris Driver on German A95 Autobahn


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here