Alain Prost at Goodwood Festival of Speed 2012

In less than two weeks time the 2012 Goodwood Festival of Speed will open its doors with over 110 drivers, riders and famous faces in action.

At least six of the 2012 F1 teams are confirmed for Goodwood. These GP teams will include Red Bull Racing, Scuderia Ferrari, Vodafone McLaren Racing, Lotus, Mercedes GP and Caterham. Current F1 drivers and leading characters in action at the Festival will include current double World Champion Sebastian Vettel, plus the two previous World Champions, Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton. Mark Webber, Nico Rosberg, Heikki Kovalainen, Christian Horner and Adrian Newey will also be in action up the 1.16-mile Goodwood hillclimb.

Past Grand Prix masters present at this summer’s Festival of Speed will include Alain Prost, Sir Stirling Moss, Sir Jackie Stewart, John Surtees, Nick Heidfeld, Jochen Mass, Emerson Fittipaldi and Martin Donnelly.

Nick Heidfeld is reunited with the McLaren MP4/13 that he launched up the Goodwood Hill in a record time of 41.6 seconds in 1999. His record remains to this day. The screaming V10 machine will be running for the first time since its glory at the 1999 Festival.

Jesse James Returns to Goodwood Festival of Speed 2012 01

From the world of rallying, drivers Juho Hanninen, Thierry Neuville, Jan Kopecky and Skoda UK Motorsport’s 2011 IRC Champion, Andreas Mikkelsen will be on the Forest Rally Stage, along with many other rallying greats who will be reacquainted with the cars that made them famous, including Juha Kankkunen, Björn Waldegård, Rauno Aaltonen, Jimmy McRae, Hannu Mikkola andRussell Brookes. TV stars James Martin and Jesse James will also be in action on the Forest Rally Stage.

Previous articleVideo: Ferrari Parade at 2012 Sport & Collection
Next articleOfficial: Capristo Exhaust and Carbon Fiber Parts for Ferrari 458 Italia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here