La Carrera Panamericana

Once again, the most daring drivers of 10 diffferent countries will meet in Mexican territory to complete the 20th edition of La Carrera Panamericana: the great Mexican Road Race.

More than 80 teams will participate from the 26th October to the 1st November. The total lengh of the route will be more than 3100 km. All teams try to be the best time in their respective catergory (10 categories in total), having a pre-qualifying stage today on the 25th October, just outside of the city of Oaxaca

Also competing is the 2006 winning team: Gabriel Perez and Angelica Fuentes. They achieved the best over-all time with 3:01:48 hours at the timed stages.
This year Doug Mockett will have the honour of driving along with the last years’ champion Angelica Fuentes.

This years La Carrera will start in Oaxaca. From there the Panamericana convoy will race to (and spend the night) in Tehuacan, the City of Puebla, Queretaro, Morelia, Aguascalientes, Zacatecas and Nuevo Laredo.

For the second year in a row, the Italian car manufactuor ‘Fiat’ will sponsor the rally and drive along for more than 3100 km. Moved by the passion of their new models for their new models for 2007, like the Grande Punto Turbo, as well as the sporty Stilo Schumacher, Fiat Panda and Fiat Idea Adventure.

The presentation of La Carrera Panamericana: XX Aniversary was held last July. During the presentation event, Eduardo Leon Camargo, President Emeritus of La Carrera Panamericana, made the official announcement of the 2007 route. He also acknowledged the colaboration of federal, state and municipal authorities, as well as the valuable coordination and support of the ‘Polica Federal Preventiva, Divison Caminos’ (Mexican Highway Patrol).

The excitement is building up. Mexico is ready!!! La Carrera Panamericana: XX anniversary is about to start.

Previous articleLa Carrera Panamericana – The final registration
Next articleLa Carrera Panamericana – Team Emil and Keri


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here